Uta Sews

Inspiration.Lives.Here

Throwback – Memory Lane!

6 Comments

Whatever happened to the first pattern I attempted and how it turned out? A few years back.. I just realized I never posted it…anywhere..I thought it came out beautiful despite the challenges.

About one year into sewing and not at all familiar with patterns as I learned how to start using measurements only this project came into being. You can imagine how nervous and excited I was to try this. It was a good challenge.

I called it the ” Green Box Cart” because it was a shift style.

I was determined to showcase that I can sew by wearing my own piece in public. I didn’t just picked a mellow event to wear it, I picked a big one.

Can you guess?

A wedding!!!!!!! You got it…Go big or go home right!

Here is the Pattern:

IMG_4651

I used a Sateen cotton as fabric, my first time using it. Cutting out the pattern pieces were all dandy and good. But sewing the facing was horrific. I couldn’t get the shape right or I cut it too small. In essence, lets just say you didn’t want to see the inside of this dress initially. I tried my best to clean it up as the wedding was still the place I would wear it.

HPIM4507 copy

Project completed..hmmm not bad…Trying on for size

I rocked this dress. I accessorized with some heels, jewellery and a flower. It was a fun night. I even caught the bouquet!

DSC04818 copy

Carefully ironed with my flower set. All ready for my Friend’s wedding

DSC04880 copy

Yayyy, at the wedding

DSC04957 copy

Yep, I caught it… my dress was a hit I guess..:)

DSC04917

Cheers to the lovely couple, to a fabulous night and of course the icing on top my ” Green Box Cart Dress” 🙂

Hope you all enjoyed  my trip down memory lane. I sure did.. Thanks to my fellow blogger at Idaaidasewing  who was so gracious enough to share her first piece and inspired me to dig deep to find this project.  What’s your first pattern/project story? Do share?

The sewing journey continues… It can only get better right… ( Perhaps a few variations this summer of the box cart..hmmmm)

Just keep sewing, just keep sewing, what do we do we seeeeeeeeewwwwwwww….

UtaC

6 thoughts on “Throwback – Memory Lane!

  1. You might think it started out as a problem but it ended up being a perfect dress for you! I have so many sewing firsts stuck in my head, I can’t remember which one was really first…. So long ago!

  2. It turned out quite well, you had a difficult fabric to work with and for a first project it turned out very well. I bet you felt very proud of yourself wearing it in the wedding, it looks great on you! I’m glad you wrote this post as I belive when we get more experienced and confident (hope that will come soon) of what we’re doing it is nice to be reminded of were we started.

  3. I remembered the project – that dress and I still talk about it..a job well done for the first Congratulations again.

Leave a Reply

